July 2014 Annual Section Meeting

On Wednesday, July 30, 2014, ITE Hawaii’s annual meeting was held at the Fasi Municipal Building.

President Mike Packard opened the meeting, and turned it over to Vice President Brian Gibson.

Brian introduced speaker Maaza Mekuria, Ph.D., P.E., PTOE, from the State of Hawaii Department of Transportation.  Maaza gave a PowerPoint presentation about Modeling and Evaluating Bicycle Networks Based on Traffic Stress and Origin Destination Connectivity. Maaza gave an interesting presentation on what is a bicycle network, including both low and high speed traffic areas. He explained connectivity as the first priority, and safety with undue detour. He talked about the 4 levels of traffic stress, and how only one percent of riders would fall into this traffic tolerant category. Maaza thanked Goro Sulijoadikusumo for encouraging him to give a presentation.

Director Steven Yoshida announced the results of the elections and Western District representative Cathy Leong swore in the new officers:

President – Pete Pascua

Vice President – Natasha Soriano

Secretary – Sara Toyama

Treasurer – Robert Nehmad

and Mike Packard will be the Director.

Cathy also announced that next year’s Western District Annual Meeting will be in Las Vegas.